• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

How to identify pre blackout and safely avoid them

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

ryan65

Nov 11, 2013
Hi
I am pretty new in this , I have read alot on the net and even took lessons but still cannot say that I fully understand this.
What I would like to know is - is there any way to assure (or at least almost assure) that there will be no blackout. My teacher said that usually one can hold after diaphragm contractions almost twice as much as the time before they began, i.e if they begin at 2 min I can hold almost 4 minutes more however that seems like pushing it too far.
I understand that there arent always signs before blackout , that is why I am asking.

Is there any threshold that can can be considered SAFE once the contractions begin assuming I am not really trying to stretch to my fullest limits. I am just trying to learn what my limits are are without actually blacking out.
for example if they started after 2 minutes would it be fairly SAFE to hold another 2 minutes , assuming I can ?

Of course I AM NOT HYPERVENTILATING.
Thanks