• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

No Contractions - anyone else? How to you train?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Paisley

Aug 27, 2014
Hello,

I am still new to freediving and have PBs of: static about 3:30 and dynamic 60M

I have yet to feel a contraction.

This good I suppose but can be frustrating when everyone I train with, everything I read, etc all uses '1st contraction' as a benchmark. I have tried to just use a warm sensation in my throat or increase overall discomfort as my 'signal' but it's subjective and all over the map. (in static for example, I have signaled anywhere from 36s to nearly 2m)

So, does anyone else experience this? What do you use as your signal/benchmark/etc?

Thanks

I don't really get contractions either. My belly does sort of a slow tensing/relaxing a bit toward the end of a long breath hold but it isn't really bothersome - I just let it move as it wants. Maybe that's contractions but for me it certainly isn't like the problem I read about everywhere.
What I do feel is just a really intense "burn" in my chest and unpleasant URGE TO BREATHE!

Reactions: Paisley