• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Taking a shot into the rocks

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Diver MC

Jun 16, 2014
I'm brand new to spearfishing and had a question about taking a shot into the rocks. Watching shows it seems like there is little regard to shooting into the rocks at close ranges. I'm concerned about bending a spear my first time out before I figure things out. Is there any general rules about shooting into the rocks? For example if the rocks are 5 feet away can I take the shot? I know it makes a huge difference if you hit or miss the fish. Most of the fish that I've come across while abalone diving have been in or on rocks. Any advice would be appreciated.

If you're ab diving, then I think a lot of the fish in that area (ling cod, cabezon, etc.) require shot into the rocks. There isn't much you can do about it. Just use cheap flopper shafts rather than expensive slip tips, and don't use guns that are longer and more powerful than necessary. And if your gun has two bands, consider unloading a band if you are at close range. After you get some experience with the gun, you will get a feel for how much power is necessary.