• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

A Beginner's Diary

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

danielgor

Jan 5, 2004
Hi everyone

As a total Newbie to Freediving and the DeeperBlue forums, i thought it would be a great idea to make a diary thread, describing my progress and resources I will use.

This should hopefully be an invaluble help to beginners in the future:D

Week 1
After much reading on the net, i decided to have a go at very simple static Apnea training (dry).

I used the website www.freedive.nu (go to Bill's tips)

The excercise involved lying on a bed, and holding breath for as long as possible, then releasing and resting for 3 minutes before repeating.

Before the exercise I did a couple of warm up holds, which I only managed to hold for half a minute or so

My times were as follows:
1) 1.35
2) 1:41
3) 2:16
4) 2:09
5) 2:22

When i stopped the watch after the last hold and saw how long id gone for i was in shock!!!

What it felt like
During the holds, contractions started about 20 seconds before the end. I found that by using my muscles to gently "squeeze" with the contractions, they were much less intolerable.