• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Anybody ever dive the Spiegel Grove?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Juan-John

Aug 4, 2003
Okay, so I'm a newbie to this list, and I promised myself an hour ago that I'd only read *one more* thread before getting back to work... This can be addictive!

I've been an ocean nut since the second grade when I first came across a book titled "Skin Diving" in my elementary school library. I read the book in the mid-70s, and the cover has a photo of two wetsuit-clad guys -- one in SCUBA gear and one with just mask, snorkel, weight belt and fins. It mainly covers snorkeling/freediving. Anybody know where a used copy might be for sale?

I learned to SCUBA dive while at the American high school in Egypt (my dad worked for Xerox and we were stationed there). Our open water qualification dives were at Ras Nasrani off the Sinai. We'd pack up a couple vans with diving and camping gear, head out on Friday afternoon, and do two dives on Saturday and two on Sunday right off the beach (in those days you could just wade out to knee-deep and step right off the coral cliff).