• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

beginner blue water hunter

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

rifmaniac

Jul 12, 2004
Hi
I'm an absolute beginner in blue water hunting; so many of the following questions are naive.
In a few weeks, my buddy and myself will probably be trying this kind of spearfishing.(we will probably first try reef fishing for amberjacks, and then try and switch to tuna)
I hunt in Tunisia (North Africa).
I use a Riffe 3XS, 8mm shaft linked to a 25m float-line, and two floats: a 4L one and a 11L at the end of the float-line.

My first quesions concern chum. We will probably use sardine and squid. How much chum would you put in water in one go? And should one wait for the chum to be spread by the current before starting to dive ?

Should one start diving even if fish is not yet visible, or its better to just float on the surface untill fish is spotted?

Is a 15 to 25m dive, for a total of 2 to 2.5 minutes enough for this kind of hunting?

I would face the current because that's where the fish would come from when it smells the chum(?)

Once the fish is shot, must I try to keep a hold on the float line, or can I let it go?