• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Black Drum

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Dave Weissman

Jul 29, 2016
I'm new to spearing, but I went shooting with an outfit in West Plam Beach-Ocean Quest. They just gave me and my buddy guns and we were on our own. Lots of strong current so got behind a wreck to wait and shot a Black Drum. I got occupied untangling my line from the wreck and noticed my buddy ditched me-yeah buddy! As I surfaced a big Barracuda started menacing me-our plan was to shoot a Barracuda for sure; my buddy could've helped with that. Anyway the crew was very critical I had shot the Drum as it was trash, nobody eats them, etc. When I mentioned my displeasure with not being able to get the Barracuda they said Barracuda was trash too and "reef" fish were dangerous to eat due to some parasite or something. Well snapper, grouper are reef fish that are pretty tasty-barracuda is nice too so I'm confused about what they said and Florida DOF&G has a bag limit of 5 for the drum. I don't understand why there'd be a limit if nobody wanted them. Anyway I was so bummed by Capt Sandy and her crew saying how horrible the drum was I didn't even try it. WTF, anybody know if black drum is worth shooting. I'm a fly-