• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Breath holding tips and techniques

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

antenc

Aug 29, 2005
I am new to Freediving, I have done a lot of snorkelling and I want to get into Freediving.

Can anyone give me any tips/techniques on how to train to hold my breath for longer?

I can consistently get to 1 minute, with no problems. 1 minute 20 at a push. How can I improve upon this?

Thanks

do a search on the forums with the terms "static times" or "improving static".

Read up a lot on the terminology of freediving and then you'll have more specific questions most of us will answer quite happily, for quick improving of the results try doing some CO2 tables and O2 tables.

Very short answer:
By doing it again and again and increasing times slowly.

If you can do 1:20, then try 1:21 the next day and so on. Gradually you will start to learn and realize what is making a difference. Of course there is more to it than that, but that's a start. And you can read up all you want, but your times will not get better unless you train and learn by trial and error what works for you.