• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

cracking 3

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

holdown

Sep 9, 2005
I've been spearing for about four years now. Dedicated to the point of undermining more "legit" elements of my life. I have good technique and can dive to just over 70ft and close to 2.5 minutes. Most of my hunting is in 40ft water and my avg. time is 1:30-1:45. My best dives are when stacks of fish are schooling and my attention is theirs. I understand the dangers of diving over 2.5 but am a bit vexed that after this time and focus I still have not cracked 3 minutes. I realize lung capacity is set from youth and i'm 37. Is it tech, pysch or phys. Any ideas. Mahalo P.s. how much of a downside is it that I have to use my hand ala frenzel to clear when seeking more depth and time?

I've been spearfishing for 12yrs now. Although I can break 3mins I rarely have a usefor it. I cut my dives short for a reason, if on the way up I see something I want it gives a reserve time to deal with it. if you push you dives to the limit your margine for error and "what if" time is gone.