• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Diving Solo - Discussion

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

irishlostboy

Jun 6, 2013
Hi All.
I want to raise the subject of diving on your own, and ask a few questions. I am pretty new to freediving and am doing my best to learn as much about it, to dive as safely as possible balancing all the variables I can. So, for perspective; I was recently in Algarve for a week, mainly to go freediving some place warmish. I did all I could to find a dive buddy. Posted up on deeper blue, trawled other websites. I called scuba stores and visited scuba stores. I called scuba guides to see if I could tag along with a shallow scuba dive, as most of the scuba sites there are pretty shallow at 10-15 meters. I got nothing. So I just had to improvise and went diving myself.
My dives were all pretty shallow, and I was being fairly conservative with time.
So, my questions are;
When in places new, how do you go about finding people to dive with?
When in places new, with no dive buddy available, what other options do you consider. Stay at home? Just go for it as best you can?
Are there any other considerations or possibilities I missed?
Cheers.