• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Drastic performance decrease. Would weight training negatively affect apnea? How about smoking?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

ington6

Aug 22, 2019
Hi.
I’ve been training for 4 months with solid steady increases. I just took two weeks off and have been in the gym a ton, lifting and protein. I travel a lot and I just had two weeks at home. (I’m normally pretty skinny and if I didn’t do these gym sessions, I’d probably wither away with the amount of time I’m in the ocean surfing and burning calories.

I just went to do a CO2 table and it was horrible. I normally have a 3:30 dry static but now contractions are coming on as soon as 50 seconds! I feel like this is worse than before I ever started training. Does anyone have any idea what could be the problem? Does lifting affect apnea in such a direct way that I’m burning more o2 now? Or would lots of core exercises be limiting my ability to take large belly breathes?