• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Elasticity loss in an unused new band over time

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.
Oct 27, 2016
Newbie here. First post. Spearo returning to the ocean after a 30 year hiatus as a landlubber.

I recently bought a JBL Elite Woody Custom to use on reefs here on the Sea of Cortez. The gun had two 5/8 X 14" bands that looked like they had never been wet. The gun didn't have a mark on it so I'm sure it sat for 4-5 years without ever seeing water. Prior owner said as much.

I've never had difficulty loading a speargun but these bands seemed to have no elasticity. I replaced one with a 9/16 x14" band and loading that band is a piece of cake. This made me wonder if, over 4-5 years of no use, the 5/8" bands have lost much of their elasticity?

I considered adding a third band to the gun as even with both 5/8" bands cocked the gun seemed very low on power.

I contacted JBL today to ask if, since the shaft has only two shark fin tabs, I could load a third band and put two bands on one shark fin tab?

I was told by Shirley at JBL that they don't recommend two bands on one tab. She didn't say why.