• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Fins for spear fishing

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

thornton

May 30, 2008
I am new to spear fishing. Can someone explain why spearing fishing fins are so long compared to scuba fins? Is there a reason why something like scubapro jet fins are not good for spear finshing? I would think that short fins would be desireable around rocks and reefs.

I live in New Mexico, what few dive shops we have are geared toward scuba. I have never seen a pair of spearing fishing type finns. What should I look for. Any suggestions about ordering fins without being able to try them on.

It all depends on the type of diving you are doing and how much you expect to progress. Split fins and other shorter fins are great for hanging in the shallows and diving shallow ledges and holes. If you plan on going deeper (30ft+) I would highly recomend getting yourself a pair of longblades.