• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

firefighter freediver with questions

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Spaceboy1017

Mar 8, 2008
Hello all,
I am a firefighter from Bradenton, Florida who just recently got into freediving/spearfishing. I've been SCUBA diving since 14, but now I'm obsessed with learning a more pure and traditional way to dive and hunt underwater.

I joined this site because of one main question-- besides basic cardio work (running, swimming, etc), how do I train my body into being able to stay underwater longer? How do I increase my lung-capacity so to speak (though I'm not sure it's increased "lung-capacity" that does it). Most reef and wreck diving that is within range of my boat is within 30-40 feet of water. So it's not depth that I need, it's time. Any good training suggestions? Thanks folks!

-Mike D

Welcome to DB Spaceboy, quite a few topics on that subject search and you will findrofl

Reactions: foxfish
Mike,

in the beginners' section, there's a post and thread on How to start Freediving (I've linked to it for You).
Read through that one, then read through it again and then start working Your way trhough it.