• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

first speargun build

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

fearless

Jun 19, 2012
hey evry one im new to the form i joind because im going to start building my first gun im looking at making a 110 cm euro gun with 2 bands i im wanting to build it of oak much like the one in this video my homemade wooden speargun. spearfishing - YouTube thanks i hav a few questions

1: will oak hold up well if i epoxy it enough ?

2: how will the neptonics euro triger mech do ?

3: wher can i get a but pad for my gun ?

4: what handle should i get ?

5: how do i make the holes for where my bands go ?

6: what size shaft should i get ?

thanks every one
icon7.gif

We like gun builds around here.
Yes you can use oak but it is pretty heavy however oak will glue up well & is very strong.
neptonics are fantastic trigger units but get one with the line release built in.
You dont need a but pad - some guys use a piece of black flip flop shoe.
Make the handle from oak
You can drill the holes & just sand them clean.
Get a 7mm shark fin spear with about 110mm overhang.