• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Freediving research! Participants needed!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Antonis Elia

May 21, 2014
Hello everyone,

My name is Antonis Elia and I am a PhD Researcher at Leeds Beckett University, with my PhD research area being centralised in assessing the physiological mechanisms and adaptations of acute and chronic apnoeic training.
Below I have some information in regards to my study. If anyone has any questions or wants to get involved don't hesitate to post in the forum or send me an email at A.Elia@leedsbeckett.ac.uk.

During breath-holding a series of physiological responses such as slowing of the heart rate, and blood redistribution towards the body’s vital organs has been found to occur; which help freedivers to hold their breath for longer durations.
However, the long-term response of red blood cells, erythropoietin and erythropoiesis during repeated breath-holding are not clear.