• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Freediving Scotland

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

William Mealyea

Apr 8, 2010
Hi

I am new to Freediving and I am looking for a budy to dive with. I stay in the west coast of scotland, Ayr. I cant seem to find anyone in scotland who is into Freediving :-(

William

You may have to travel or convert friends i have had the same problem a few times.Have you checked to see if there are any dive clubs in the general area?

I am a member of a Scuba Diving club but noone is in to freediving. I think they would all feel it is dangerous and silly. I think freediving is generaly missunderstood.

Bring some interesting gear to a local pool at different times, is a nice way to open up conversation and build new contacts. You could also post an add there on their message board. And indeed be invited to a scuba club and share your knowledge and experience will also help.
The Scottish are usually portrait as a 'cheap' living people, just as the Dutch, maybe they find it attractive to know you can have great fun without much of the gear needed for regular scuba diving?