• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

greetings from the Aleutian Islands

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

dan magone

Jul 23, 2006
I am a 28 year resident of Dutch Harbor on the Island of Unalaska in the Aleutian Chain, Alaska. I am 55 years old have been a recreational diver for 40 years, a commercial diver for 36 years and am the only freediver I know of in Alaska. I am a spearfisherman and love freediving for its own sake as it gives me a gracefull, simple way to explore God's creation. Since I am a loner freediver and quite off the beaten path I am looking to this forum for input on techniques and safety from the freediving community out there.

Dan Magone

Last edited:
hi Dan
Welcome to DB - i have never been to Alaska and like fogish say, not many of us are from your part of the world but guaranteed we'd like to know more. Do you have a blog, or photos of your dives up there?

Hello Island Sands and others,