• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Greetings.. looking for suggestions

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

CatalinaSPS

Mar 16, 2018
Hello everyone,
Hola a todos,
My name is Kate and I am fairly new to freediving. A little about me: I was a competitive swimmer in elementary through high school. I fell into freediving accidentally about 10 years ago when I went to visit my friend in Roatan, whose boyfriend (now husband) owned a dive shop. I could have taken scuba diving classes there for free, but I didn't want to waste any of the precious little time I had on the island sitting in a classroom. After my friend taught me how to equalize the pressure in my ears, I realized I could go down as deep or deeper than the beginning divers but without all the gear. Years later, I found out this is called "freediving" =) Unfortunately, money, family obligations and limited vacation leave from work have prevented me from exploring freediving much more. However, nexr week I am returning to Roatan and in July I will be going to the Riviera Maya hoping to snorkel with whale sharks off Isla Holbox, snorkel/freedive in some cenotes, and visit Cozumel.