• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Hello From a complete beginner from Dundee, UK!!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

lynchburg1235

Sep 14, 2018
Hi everyone!
I am a complete beginner, I have been trying freediving with my brother (we're both in our early 20's) for the last 2 months, but I have made little progress. I started practicing after realizing that I can hold my breath underwater for just over 3.30min (inactively-no swimming, just sitting at the bottom of the pool) and can swim 30m on one breath, which seemed like a lot to me given that I have never really practiced or dived much before. It is something that I have thoroughly enjoyed and I feel like I could get better at this, but I am just unsure of what to do to get better. I am aware of the fact that underwater swimming is pretty dangerous as you are literally cutting out the oxygen intake for long periods of time which can end fatally ;p I'd love some tips and hints on how to stay safe and get better.
Are there any long-term side effects of holding your breath underwater multiple times a day for extended periods of time? What should I be watching out for?