• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Hello from Brussels (Belgium)!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

SoJo

Dec 12, 2017
Hi all, I'm a freediving newbie and excited to learn more and improve!

I mainly found this site because i'm looking for advice on how to stop, or delay, chest/diaphragm spasms during static apnea. I had a quick browse in the forum but didn't find anything specific that could help ..

Some background info: I've been to 5 training sessions with a local freediving club in the last 6 weeks. The first time I managed just over 1 minute static before the spasms became too intense, on the 4th session I managed 2m10s, but I haven't been able to last any longer because of these spasms... I managed to hold my breath through them but they become increasingly intense and uncomfortable to the point where my whole body spasms and I feel increased pressure in my chest and have to come up. I'm very sporty and have taken up yoga again (3 times a week), but neither of these things seems to help me. The length of the breathe-ups don't seem to make a difference either, so i'd really appreciate any advice you can give!

thanks!