• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Hello from the "Garden State"

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

TomNJ

Jul 29, 2007
No, really, New Jersey is the "Garden State!" Go figure...

My background is primarily scuba diving the local wrecks w/ a little spearfishing thrown in on occasion. But with the price of a boat ride these days, I started doing a little shore/inlet diving and now I'm thinking I'd like to work on my freediving and spearfishing. I'm even wondering if a kayak might be useful around here?

Anyway, from what I've seen so far, you've got a great online community here and I'm glad I stumbled upon it.

Tom

Hi Tom,

I recently moved to central jersey and did alot of L.I. sound diving out of conn previously. As A fellow scuba and spearing enthusiast I saw the popularity of kayaks rising so much the for fishermen,divers and spearmongers.

The first thing I thought of when I moved here with all the bays and inlets was kayaks! A good friend of mine from N.Y. retired from contracting and now owns a kayak store complete with a nightschool to build your own for $1200 dollars and all materials suppied w/4 differing materials and 3 different styles. So as a shoreman I may be following the kayak path myself !