• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

HeLp - Im A NooB

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

jama1988

Apr 15, 2007
hey everyone, im very new to spearfishing, ive been using a small speargun and i just bought a larger one, when i have been using the smaller one in the water i tend to just let the line (line holding the end of spear to the gun) float around in the water. i was wondering if i am meant to be wrapping the line around the little latch thing near the trigger and will the latch let the line go when firing? sorry im a hell noob to this, thanks

yes, that is your line release. Wrap your line around that and the notch near the muzzel and this keeps the line from floating around. When you pull the trigger, the line release releases the line and hopefully get a fish

Just in case you were wondering how the line should be wrapped, you could check the "how to rig a speargun" sticky. I think they have a few mentions of the ways to wrap a line.