• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Help needed for buying gear

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Blinkypoo

May 4, 2005
Hello everyone

Let's start out with saying that I'm new to the realms of spearfishing. I've been freediving ever since I came into contact with water yet due to the Swedish laws I've not been able to try spearfishing. Though this is about to change since my brother has moved to Norway :king (to the cold waters of Tromsö).
So to get to the point, what gear would you recommend for mainly the waters of Norway (chances are that I might spearfish in England and in France also).

For cold water go with a 5mm to 7mm wetsuit. The water that i hunt in is around 50 degress fahrenhiet, ( i think thats like 10 or 11 degress celcius), and my 5mm suit keeps me warm enough for a full day of hunting.
Good Luck

Maybe I wasn't clear enough.

I am freediving at the moment and have the gear for it (suite, fins, mask and so on). My question was what spearfishing gear do I need? What size of gun? Do I need a float or something else? I really just now that a gun is something I need, the rest is kinda blurry at the moment.

Thanks

1.A knife good sharp and not too big.
2.A gun start with a 75cm euro gun.