• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

help

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Fishboyjosh

Jul 23, 2005
hi there,

im totally new to freediving. Im about to purchase a monofin, wat are the benefits and wat stifness should i buy??

any info is really appreciated

thanks everybody :)

hi fish..

it depends what you want to use the fin for. and that would determine what stiffness to get. if you want to use it for sprinting you'd need a hard stiffness, but they aren't really comfortable for long times. if you want to do constant weight diving i'd probably get a medium fin. if you want to swim leisurely or like for pool use a softer fin works.

these are some sites that make nice fins:

http://www.leaderfins.com/

http://www.specialfins.com/

http://www.finswimming.ca/

i'm thinking about getting the leaderfins mono "wings" i like that they'll put any logo you want on it if you supply them with an image (extra cost)

good luck.. let us know what you pick