• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Hi, new to spearfishing, in search of kit advice.

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

the_unplugged

Jul 28, 2009
Hello all!

I'm new to spearfishing, having only tried it a couple of times before in Australia, to great enjoyment, and I've only now discovered it is legal, and indeed possible, in U.K waters.

I'm keen to get kitted out a.s.a.p, but I'd be much obliged if I could get some advice choosing gear. I've been searching this very informative forum, but can't make up my mind! At the moment, these are the options i've narrowed it down to:

Wetsuit: (all 5mm) Venom Apnea, Elios Triton or Apneasub 'The shadow', all from spearo.co.uk

Fins: Cressi Gara 3000 or Seatec Vela

Speargun: Omer Cayman HF2 80cm, or Seatec Gabbiano 77cm

I'll be using the set up both on the south coast and on holiday (go to the Med most years, normally Corfu). Just after any opinions of the above, or suggestions of alternatives if none of it's any good!

Thanks in advance.
Matt