• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

How do I recognize contractions ?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Luchtbus

Jul 31, 2003
As you can see by the nature of my question, i'm a newbie allright :) . (have been checking out the forum for a while, though).

Here's my question : How do I recognize a "contraction" ?
Perhaps it would help if I knew what a contraction exactly is for a start, but I don't think I've ever had one.

I've been diving in a pool (25 m-pool @ 29°) for a couple of weeks now and my dynamic has improved from one length previously to 2 lengths (50 m) currently (and proud of it !! :eek:) . After that, I really have to get up for air, except on a good day when 2 lengths is fairly easy to do, but the extra psychological effort needed to make another turn is simply too much :head .

Haven't done any max statics yet (wouldn't do more than 2'30" I guess) but is it possible that a beginner is not really at the edge yet, so he doesn't have any contractions anyway ?

Reactions: donmoore
hi

Interesting... Didn't have a contraction yet huh...
There are two possible explanations:
1. you are one of those people that don't get contractions