• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

How to rig Riffe breakaway system

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

costaricahunter

Mar 2, 2005
Hi, I'm fairly new to spearfishing. I recently purchased a new breakaway rig for my Riffe gun but can't figure out how to rig it and neither did the anybody at the scuba shop where I bought it. I can't seem to be able to hook it up without shortening my line. I'm afraid of cutting my line and re-crimping because if I do it wrong I'll be totally out of luck. I live in an isolated part of Costa Rica, so I don't have easy access to lines or other accessories in case I make a mistake. I have a float system, but instead of hooking it up to my gun, I want to hook it up to the breakaway system (it's basically a small bungee loop with a clamp). Thanks for any advice!

You didn't say whether the Riffe was a wood gun or a metal tech. If its the breakaway he sells for the wood gun in which a piece of rubber tubing goes through the hole in the butt, I wouldn't use it. Will the shop let you return it?