• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

How to start a club?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

blaiz

Apr 8, 2008
Heres a question I have been wondering for a while now. I have been diving for close to 15 years, I really started taking it really seriously about 3 years ago. I have a group of about 10 divers/spearos who I dive with, all of whome are well adept and experienced.

How do you start your own legitimate spearfishing club?

Dont laughrofl, this is a serious question.

What are your duties as a club?
WHat are the logistics of starting one?
Do you need to contact any state or local agencies to do so?
Do you need to compete?
Are there any liabilities in doing so?

No low blows here, there are no stupid questions, just stupid answers. At least thats what my mama always told me:eek:

Reactions: settingsteel
Well, these are indeed very valid questions, and founding of an official club may not be as easy as it may sound. The exact procedure differs in each country, so I cannot tell you for the USA, but you will likely need to register as a non-profit association. I think that any commercial lawyer will be able to help you out with the necessary paperwork and it should not be too difficult or expensive.