• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Wanted I want tons of stuff!

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Blacktocomm

Apr 28, 2011
I am new to spearfishing, and free diving and I am looking to get a decent set up for cheap, and some extra stuff to maybe take people out with me once in awhile. I will need

A couple good masks/snorkels
a wetsuit for a 6'2" 180 pound man
A speargun or collapsible pole spear
Fins for size 12-13 foot
Gloves maybe?

If you can think of anything else that might be needed in a beginner set up let me know!

thanks!

Yeah, I reckon Mako would be good.

Unless you are dealing with huge pelagic fish, the inexpensive inflatable torpedo floats work very well and are light & convenient to carry - I still use one 95% of the time. Ditch the para-cord though (not stiff enough) & you only need the fancy, very expensive tube float-lines for big pelagic fish - try something like the inexpensive RA 'Thai -curry green' polyester float line (or similar stiff polyster rope/washing line) - which can also be used for large pelagic fish; alternatively aquarium air-tube: