• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Know your Surf

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

OceanSwimmer

Nov 3, 2002
Being a newbie, I cannot say I've heard it all or done it all.
Freediving is a complex, exciting sport that has a lifetime of wealth to explore.
It combines an endless variety of disciplines and adventures.
What got me to thinking about this thread is the safety issue.
I haven’t been here long but it seems there are a lot of ‘tell me how’ posts coming in from new members who are eager to discover the joys of freediving.
I am also aware of the news that we get from time to time about the injuries (and worse)
that can happen whilst freediving.
One of the best skills to learn is safe beach entry and exit.
It is an important aspect to consider.
Freediving in the ocean isn’t as easy as driving to the beach, pulling the car over, throwing on the fins and swimming out…..until you learn your venue and the variety of conditions that can affect the site.

The SDCD sponsors tours of the local beach diving sites.
It's called the 3R's Tour. The 3 Rs stand for Rocks, Rips, and Reefs.
The San Diego Lifeguards do a lecture and in-water tour of a good variety of the beach dive sites.