• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Learning to spearfish DEEPER

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Arbutis

Jun 1, 2010
I have been spearfishing for several years now but I feel like I am stuck at a particular depth. I live in NJ and fish off the beach and prior to that I lived in Rhode Island - both are relatively cold water and murky dive conditions. I consider myself a very good swimmer but I have a dive comfort level of only about 25 feet. My max is about 37 feet but as I recall it was quite uncomfortable and I'm sure I wasn't down there long enough to be useful.

I've seen some shows on tv where these people are going 70 feet plus and it seems effortless. Additionally, I have an opportunity to try some really deep spearfishing 75'-110' with a few commercial spearos off Isla Mujeres in Mexico in a couple weeks and I don't think I'm up for the challenge. It seems like an impossible hump to overcome.

I have been getting bottom times of about 1 minute to 1:20 where I dive and for me that is pretty darn good. My questions to this group. . .

Is there something I need to learn in order to get over this hump and become able to achieve depths like these?
Is it just a matter of having a much longer breath hold?