• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Lingcod and Cabezon

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Baka

Oct 13, 2005
Hi
Im new to spearfishing, i have gone twice mainly after lingcod and cabezon. Both times i went i used a 5 foot polespear with trident style spear with barbs, i had trouble getting my fish beacause i need to get real close to them in order to sink the barbs in. I think that im going to puchase a speargun but i have no idea what type, i dont have a lot of money so i was thinking about buying a JBL D7 Carbine Speargun from leisurepro.com, but the water that i freedive in is kinda cold (I freedive in the Straight of Juan de Fuca between Washington State and Canada's Victoria) and i heard that cold water ruins bands, and that i should go with a pneumatic gun. I have no preference i would just like to have something that can kill a Ling or cabezon effectivly. Thanks

Welcome to DB amigo. I hunt in similar conditions, and assure you that your bands will be fine. Pneumatics can be problematic as there are seals and friction to deal with. Banded guns are simple, reliable, and easy to fix in the field if there are problems.