• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Locating a pool in San Francisco that permits apnea training.

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Paulymccauley

Mar 29, 2013
Hi all.
I'm fairly new to free diving and I'm really starting to love it.
I'm also a padi divemaster. I'm trying to locate a swimming pool in the San Francisco Bay Area that will allow me to partake in apnea training.
Everywhere I call to inquire about this has told me no so I was hoping that one of you guys might know.
Thanks in advance for any help.

Pauly.

Reactions: Kars
Hi Pauly,

I'm not in your area, but maybe a few questions and ideas might work for you as well.

In short I think you did approach the pools in the wrong way. Just put yourself in their shoes, and think of the ideal customer to a pool. Think insurance, think reputation, think numbers, think money, think hyper sexualised culture, think normals. Now I think you'll see that any pool would much rather decline a freediver from coming to their pool.

Next time you call a remote(r) pool, don't tell your name, ask for when the quiet hours are, and how many and what types the normally expect. With the pool size in mind you can estimate the space you may have.