• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Lung Squeeze Prevention

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.
Sep 10, 2017
I recently started diving in June so I'm fairly new to freediving. A couple of days ago I attempted to dive to ~37 m after successfully diving to ~34 m. I was not able to get to ~37 m and had to abort the dive around ~30 m. On the surface I noticed that I had gotten squeeze after checking my spit. I've realized that I'm diving deeper than my body can handle. What are some felxibility exercises that I can do to help prevent another squeeze in the future? Any advice would be much appreciated.

Lung squeeze is a very complicated matter and there's a lot to say.
The most important advises are:
Warm up with several shallow dives before deep dives
It may also be caused by forcing the equalization so try to fix that
Also it could be too much air packing

Francesco

Lung squeeze is a very complicated matter and there's a lot to say.
The most important advises are:
Warm up with several shallow dives before deep dives
It may also be caused by forcing the equalization so try to fix that
Also it could be too much air packing

Francesco