• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Need help, am I using frenzel or valsalva?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

C0nsiderthe0dds

Apr 11, 2015
So I always thought I was using valsalva while scuba diving. I'm just getting into freediving now, so this is all the experience I have. I just recently started learning more about the other techniques. When I'm down I pinch my nose, and my tongue closes off my airway and moves up and down and sort of pumps air itself, all with what residual air is in my mouth. I don't have to open my throat to do this. Is that the frenzel? If so I'm on the right track. I also have this thing where in my head I can move this muscle and make my ears sound like there is wind blowing through my head. If I squeeze it hard enough my wife hears a slight clicking noise coming from my ear. Is it possible to equalize without using frenzel, valsalva, and not pinching my nose by doing this? I haven't tried it while in the water, but it seems like the same feeling and sound as when I pinch my nose and make those quick bursts to equalize. Am I getting really lucky here, or is it a fluke and just a noise?