• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Need Help Choosing a gun

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Hypersquid1

Ride The Lightning
Jun 15, 2005
Hi everybody!
I am new at spearfishing and i dont know what gun to choose. I am younger and i dont have a whole lot of money. (about $400 at the most) I kind of was looking at the gun market and narrowed it down Riffe and JBL. i am trying to choose between a Riffe Metal Tech #0 or #1 and a JBl Magnum 38 Special. i am going to be spearing off the coast of Rhode Island, mostly around rocks and sandy bottoms. the main fish i will be targeting will be stripers, bluefish and maybe some big scup and blackfish. If possible i would like to get the JBL gun because it is considerably cheaper, although i would be willing to save a few extra pennies and get the Riffe. I was reading in the forums before i joined, and i think i heard somebody say that the Riffe guns have much better penetration than the JBL, which i think i would like a bit more. PLease respond as i would like to choose a gun by the end of the month to get half a season out of it! i would also like to say that i can buy a gun and easily upgrade if i need a better one. i think i will go with a Riffe competetor gun because