• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

New freediver, currently at the Great Barrier Reef AUS - iron defficiency and freediving

JenniferMeza5

Mar 7, 2024
Hi all! I am new to freediving, just got my license in Indonesia. Im currently based in Queensland, Australia very keen to connect to other freedivers around here to explore and practice more. I have joined some apnea training at the pool to deepen into it.
I found this amazing forum as I have an iron defficiency since a couple months and was wondering if holding breath would worsen this situation or if the body ends up getting used to the low levels of oxygen....?

cheers!

Reactions: hydroid
I suspect that anaemia could lead to a higher possibility of blackout if you tend to push a bit towards hypoxia when freediving.

I'm pretty sure it's true that the body will be able to cope better with it to some degree as you do more breathhold/freedive training (improved dive response meaning better oxygen use overall, incl. spleen adaptations so there's a bit more 'fresh' O2 added into blood when needed, etc.)