• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Nice sea bass "escaped"...

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

greendiver

Sea fanatic
May 2, 2005
Got to tell you this...very frustrating.... :hmm
I am no expert but I am trying and have been spending more time in the sea then with my wife lately... :) ..
I have been catching some bass lately...in between 1,5 and 2,5 kg, not to big but still very tasty and ofcourse trying to catch a bigger one...
well...anyways...one of my spanish friends here...a very experienced diver told me...you got to wait a bit longer...if you see a couple of small ones...the bigger one might come a bit later....
So...I am on the bottom...it starts to get pretty cold overhere, see a small bass, so I am waiting...blue already..and just when I want to go up....I see this huge bass, ( I used a totem pelagos 90, the bass must have been at 2,5 meters, it must have been at least 8kg...ok....maybe 6kg :) )...I aim, and pull the trigger, I see the point entering the fish but....the bass just pulls the spear out....the point of the spear did not go through....I was really disappointed :waterwork :waterwork ..
After examening the point of the spear.....many times I was told..sharpen that point...