• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Nova Scotia

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Scotian

Mar 19, 2008
Hey everybody!

I'm a bit new at this, but with warm weather coming I'd like to try a bit of spearfishing here in Nova Scotia. I'm searching the web, but I can't find much information regarding the spearfishing sport in this province. Does anyone out there have any information that could steer me in the right direction? I have two questions; Is it worth it here (are there suitable fish), and what length/poundage speargun should I have?

If I'm coming across as too-new-and-jumping-the-gun, apologies. I've been doing my research and I'm not going to jump into this unprepared.

Sorry you have had no replies but we do have a few Canadian members so keep posting :)

There have got to be some line fisherman up there. Get in good with them and figure out what they target and how deep, etc...