• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Omer Airbalete Rust Problem

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

sparus

Aug 9, 2018
Hi everyone,
I am a new member of the board.
I have been using pneumatic spearguns for approximately 20 years. To me the best WAS Omer airbalete.
However, I had some problems while pulling the trigger. It was heavier than than usual. So I had to disassemble my speargun. I was shocked to see whole parts get rusted including piston, and piston lock-release mechanism. The whole pieces were covered in rust. Because all of these metal parts were made of non-stainless steel. Although there were plenty of omer airgrease, it seems that it has no protection against rusting. Furthermore, it is not logic to make these pieces from non-stainless steel.
I warned a friend of mine who also uses omer airbalete, the result was the same.

If you are using an omer airbalete please check if you have rust inside. And if you are willing to buy an Omer airbalete, please think twice.

Here are the rusted pieces.
IMG-20180731-_WA0001.jpg

IMG-20180803-_WA0011.jpg

IMG-20180803-_WA0014.jpg

This photo belongs to my friend. He also checked his gun after I talked to him.

IMG-20180805-_WA0028.jpg