• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

On Lunocet, C4, Dol-Fin and Traditional Monofins and Bi fins

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

KangJ

Jun 6, 2010
Hi!

Im new to free diving, and am looking around for the right fins, as a beginner i understand its better for me to start with the traditional monofins, but i do have some experience with fins as a professional swimmer.

Id like to know which of the above is more efficient in which area of free divng, can anyone help me do a little comparison amongst the few?

Thanks,
Kang James

I've used all of them except the Dol-fin.

My current monofin is a Triton hyperfin. There were some questions about glue quality when I first bought it, but it's been my best monofin to date. I love the style and it makes kicking much easier for someone with rigid ankles like me. My older NEMO, Waterway #2, Specialfins carbon dolphin monofins didn't have any angle to the blades and made swimming more difficult for me.

I've also owned many, many, pairs of bi-fins and they are a great way to start out. You can always use them for scuba diving, spearfishing, and depth. They have comfortable footpockets from the start and you can dolphin kick with them.