• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Overcoming panic while freediving

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

HelenaW

Nov 30, 2017
Hi all,
I'm new to freediving and have an annoying tendency to panic if I can't find my dive buddy on the surface after he/she has done a dive. I get this overwhelming feeling of being alone out in the ocean, and an impending sense of doom that something awful has happened to them, and something awful will happen to me..... I guess the best way to avoid these situations is to do proper buddying, whereby one person stays on the surface and tracks the person underneath. It just seems a lot of people I dive with don't follow that rule and all disappear together, leaving me fighting off the rising panic. Anyone else feel like this? I guess with experience, this will diminish. Also, my brother drowned at sea, so I think that has a lot to do with my fear.

Reactions: Manny_OCF
Time and practice will decrease the severity of your symptoms, but it's right to feel uncomfortable when you can't find your buddy.