• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Pneumatic Guns - Power Reducer or No?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

steiney

Nov 25, 2017
I'm new to spearfishing. I have my first trip planned with a friend who is a fairly serious fisherman (from a boat) but also new to spearfishing. I have just concluded many hours of reading and research. I have decided to go with a 55cm Cressi Saetta. The only thing I cannot really find any information on is power reducers on pneumatic guns.

There's a $30 price difference between the model equipped with the power reducer and the model without it. I'm interested to hear from others who use a pneumatic gun how important the power reducer is.

I will be hunting in reef and open shallow to shallow-ish water, with limited visibility sometimes. I can imagine that I could bend or break a spear tip or shaft if I fired at full pressure at a reef. I also want to minimize the damage or impact I cause to coral reefs.

So, does not having the power reducer on the gun limit the usefulness and broadness of application?