• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Roller gun recommendations

drosophila virilis

drosophila virilis

Jul 25, 2022
Hey everyone!

This is my first ever post here, but I've been spearfishing in the Adriatic for about 15 years. Even so, I know basically no one else who does it in person, so I figured I'd try to ask for some advice here.

In short, I'm looking to buy a new roller gun and I am looking for some recommendations. I've been using an Omer Cayman HF 85cm for a long time now, and while it's a great gun, I decided to finally pull the trigger and get a roller. It's been happening far too often that a fish is just out of range and the extra 20-30% range of the roller gun would be decisive. It almost feels like the fish know the range and are taunting me.

I primarily fish in shallow water (bream, bass, mullet and such), so I need a relatively short gun (up to 100cm). It needs to be manoeuvrable enough to be usable while stalking around rocks, but also have enough range to hit a skittish bream. Occasional shots under rocks or into holes are also important. I don't go for large pelagic fish (there aren't any where I fish anyway), so I'm not looking for maximum power to punch through.