• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Spearfishing in Alaska?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

aksurfer

Mar 13, 2007
Hi! I'm new to th the forum. I was wondering if anybody has ever spearfished in Alaska. I currently live in SE Alaska. (Prince of Wales Island) I am a fishing guide and I absolutely love to fish, but am getting bored of the rod/reel fishing. I also surf here in Alaska so I am used to the cold water.

We have big King Salmon, Ling Cod, and Halibut that move into shallow kelp beds in ultra clear water. Any reason why I couldn't spearfish for them? I've never heard of anybody doing it up here. I've done some spearfishing when I was in the Bahamas and I loved it.

Last edited:
Hi Aksurfer,
I only know of a few freedivers scattered around Southeast Alaska, but there are Scuba spearfishermen down there.
I was the only one up here for a few years, but there are now half a dozen of us up in Anchorage that freedive spearfish in Seward and Prince William Sound. It's been mostly for rockfish, with salmon (silvers, reds and pinks) thrown in for August. I got one king last year.