• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Speargun Design

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Andrew Jackson

Feb 2, 2017
Hi Guys,

I am a Product Design student at my secondary school. I have a passion for spearfishing and diving and i am interested in designing and building a speargun.
The gun will most likely be a reef gun no longer than 100cm and made out of timber with a bought trigger mechanism and shaft.
I am wanting ideas to improve the design of current spearguns.
What are problems with current speargun designs and what needs changing?
Any ideas would be greatly apreciated.

Thanks
Andrew J

Hi Guys,

I am a Product Design student at my secondary school. I have a passion for spearfishing and diving and i am interested in designing and building a speargun.
The gun will most likely be a reef gun no longer than 100cm and made out of timber with a bought trigger mechanism and shaft.

Thanks
Andrew J