• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Question Surface Swimming with Freedive Fins

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

Sammabey1

Mar 27, 2021
Hi, I am new to freediving and try to go as much as possible. I have a pair of Cressi Gare freedive fins and I really like them however when I have gone freediving I tend to swim on the surface rather long distances before diving. Firstly I cant seem to get the right techinique for this as I feel very slow and like im having to put alot of energy in and secondly by the end of my session the front of my ankles ( I dont know the actual term for this part of the body) are in agony, they feel so stretched by the force of the fins and I assume this is connected to a bad technique or maybe it just takes time to get used to? When I actually dive they feel fine its just swimming on the surface that seems to be the problem. Any advice as to what I could be doing wrong would be appreciated. Also my fins may be slightly too big however I have thick neoprene socks that fill them out nicely.