• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Swim 50m underwater?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

DylChin

Jan 8, 2013
Hey all, I'm new to this whole thing, but I'm 16 years old and can currently hold my breath (dry static) for about 2 minutes (not great, I know).

I have decided to start doing tables and whatnot, I can currently swim 25m underwater in a pool but I want to build that up to around 50m (without fins), so I have a few questions about technique and training.

First of all, what do you find is the most efficient technique for swimming? When I did 25m I just did something very similar to breaststroke but kept the stroke rate low, I have seen other people do a breaststroke kick with the arms forward, and then they wait before doing a breaststroke pull with the arms. I have also seen people do a breaststroke followed by a single dolphin kick with the arms forward, so it is clear to me there are a large variety of techniques, which one would you guys advise using? Time is not really an issue, I just want to finish the 50m swim.