• Welcome to the DeeperBlue.com Forums, the largest online community dedicated to Freediving, Scuba Diving and Spearfishing. To gain full access to the DeeperBlue.com Forums you must register for a free account. As a registered member you will be able to:

• Join over 44,280+ fellow diving enthusiasts from around the world on this forum
    • Participate in and browse from over 516,210+ posts.
    • Communicate privately with other divers from around the world.
    • Post your own photos or view from 7,441+ user submitted images.
    • All this and much more...

You can gain access to all this absolutely free when you register for an account, so sign up today!

Texas Diving Spots?

Thread Status: Hello , There was no answer in this thread for more than 60 days.
It can take a long time to get an up-to-date response or contact with relevant users.

lks712

Feb 4, 2004
Hi All,

I'm new to this forum; I am kinda new to diving too. I have completed my PADI open water last fall.

We're going to Texas on holidays; visiting relatives. I was wondering if there is nice diving spots on the Texas coast that are suitable for beginning divers like myself? Is Padre Island National Seashore an option?

We're looking for a PADI center where we can rent equipment and a get a guide (preferably a PADI certified diver).

Thanks, Kris.

Kris,
Texas has good diving, but it’s all by boat. It’s a mud bottom, which make the water dirty for miles out. Padres Island National Seashore is just a big long beach, with no launching for motorboats.

If your talking summer holidays, then you might get a good day. Winter holidays would be difficult, because the weather isn’t usually good which makes the clear water further out, plus you wouldn’t really want to go in anything above 5’ seas which is common in the winter. I went Saturday and we had to go 50 miles out before we had 12 feet of visibility.